LibGuides: EN837/EN838/EN839 Specialty Clinical Training-Clinic: Databases

Databases

Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source offers an extensive collection of important full-text journals, as well as dozens of full-text monographs. The collection includes more than 210 full-text journals, including many of the top-ranked titles in the discipline. Topics covered include General Dentistry, Dental Public Health, Endodontics, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Pediatric Dentistry, Orthodontics, Dentofacial Orthopedics, and Oral Science.
UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,300 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. More than 1.1 million clinicians in 180 countries and almost 90% of academic medical centers in the United States rely on UpToDate to provide the best care.

More than 60 research studies confirm widespread usage of UpToDate and its association with improved patient care and hospital performance. One, a study by researchers at Harvard published in the Journal of Hospital Medicine in 2011, showed that hospitals using UpToDate experienced shortened hospital stays, fewer deaths and better quality performance than non-UpToDate hospitals.

UpToDate access is limited, you may contact the library for more information.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier”s medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, giving physicians access to over 900 top books, over 500 top journals, thousands of videos and millions of images. Resources in various specialties provide access to some of the resources from your requirements list. In order to access some services and download resources, registration is required
Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books and conference proceedings. Delivering a comprehensive overview of the world’s research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, Scopus features smart tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
CINAHL Complete
This is the world’s most comprehensive nursing & allied health research database, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL®, including many of the most-used journals in the index with no embargo. Of those, 464 are not found with full text in any version of Academic Search, Health Source® or Nursing & Allied Health Collection™. Offering complete coverage of English-language nursing journals and publications from the National League for Nursing and the American Nurses’ Association, CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines. In addition, this authoritative file offers access to health care books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, educational software, audiovisuals and book chapters.
Embase
Embase is the world’s largest database of biomedical evidence from published, peer-reviewed literature, in- press publications and conference abstracts.
Conduct systematic literature reviews
Embase guides you in using the PICO method in a search. And you can quickly formulate an advanced query to explore deeply indexed content. Your results feed into a strong systematic review that helps you to:

Access relevant information from trusted sources
Confidently publish original research
Tap into a multitude of topics and deeply connected records
Screen for adverse drug events
Embase empowers your pharmacovigilance search strategy for high-recall, high-precision drug safety monitoring.

Use smart tools to ensure you don’t miss important information for compliant pharmacovigilance
Track drug-disease relations and drug-drug interactions
Recognized by regulatory bodies as a source for discovering adverse events
Comply with medical device regulations
Embase is recommended by the EMA for meeting the stricter requirements of MDR and IVDR.

Capture mentions of medical devices with dedicated device terms, subheadings and synonym suggestions from Emtree
Collect data for clinical evaluations, as well as post-market surveillance
Quickly create precise and high-recall queries