Physiology

Costanzo Physiology by Linda Costanzo Through six highly regarded editions, students and instructors alike have come to appreciate Dr. Linda Costanzo's clear, helpful writing style, logical organization, and easy-to-follow presentation of a challenging and complex topic in medical education. Costanzo Physiology, 7th Edition, retains the step-by-step, to-the-point approach that makes this text ideal for coursework and USMLE preparation. Complex concepts are presented in a simple, easy-to-digest manner, and are accompanied by well-designed figures and tables that provide handy visuals for procedures or physiologic equations. Fully updated throughout, this edition remains the students' choice for concise, clear instruction and a strong foundation in human physiology. Offers a comprehensive and consistent overview of core physiologic concepts at the organ system and cellular levels, making complex principles easy to understand.  Presents information in a short, simple, and focused manner - the perfect presentation for success in coursework and on exams.  Provides step-by-step explanations and easy-to-follow diagrams clearly depicting physiologic principles.  Contains new coverage of SARS CoV-2 physiology, renal handling of uric acid, delta/delta analysis is acid-base physiology, endolymph physiology, respiratory distress syndrome, compensatory bronchiolar constriction, and more.  Includes high-yield online features such as student FAQs with thorough explanations, animations, and video tutorials from Dr. Costanzo.  Integrates equations and sample problems throughout the text.  Features chapter summaries for quick overviews of important points, boxed Clinical Physiology Cases for a more thorough understanding of application, and end-of-chapter questions to reinforce understanding and retention.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty Sixth Edition by Kim E. Barrett; Susan M. Barman; Jason Yuan; Heddwen L. Brooks The leading text on human physiology for more than four decades--enhanced by all new video tutorials A Doody's Core Title for 2022!  For more than four decades, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology has been helping those in the medical field understand human and mammalian physiology. Applauded for its interesting and engagingly written style, Ganong's concisely covers every important topic without sacrificing depth or readability, and delivers more detailed, high-yield information per page than any other similar text or review.  Thoroughly updated to reflect the latest research and developments in important areas such as chronic pain, reproductive physiology, and acid-base homeostasis, Ganong's Review of Medical Physiology, Twenty-Sixth Edition incorporates examples from clinical medicine to illustrate important physiologic concepts. Ganong's will prove valuable to students who need a concise review for the USMLE, or physicians who want to keep pace with the ever-changing world of medical physiology. More than 600 full-color illustrations Two types of review questions: end-of-chapter and board-style NEW! Increased number of clinical cases and flow charts NEW! Video tutorials from the author; high-yield Frequently Asked Question feature with detailed explanations; improved legends that eliminate the need to refer back to the text 

Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by John E. Hall; Michael E. Hall Known for its clear presentation style, single-author voice, and focus on content most relevant to clinical and pre-clinical students, Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, employs a distinctive format to ensure maximum learning and retention of complex concepts. A larger font size emphasizes core information, while supporting information, including clinical examples, are detailed in smaller font and highlighted in pale blue - making it easy to quickly skim the essential text or pursue more in-depth study. This two-tone approach, along with other outstanding features, makes this bestselling text a favorite of students worldwide. Offers a clinically oriented perspective written with the clinical and preclinical student in mind, bridging basic physiology with pathophysiology. Focuses on core material and how the body maintains homeostasis to remain healthy, emphasizing the important principles that will aid in later clinical decision making. Presents information in short chapters using a concise, readable voice that facilitates learning and retention. Contains more than 1,200 full-color drawings and diagrams - all carefully crafted to make physiology easier to understand. Features expanded clinical coverage including obesity, metabolic and cardiovascular disorders, Alzheimer's disease, and other degenerative diseases. Includes online access to interactive figures, new audio of heart sounds, animations, self-assessment questions, and more. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.

Medical Physiology by Walter F. Boron; Emile L. Boulpaep For a comprehensive understanding of human physiology - from molecules to systems -turn to the latest edition of Medical Physiology. This updated textbook is known for its unparalleled depth of information, equipping students with a solid foundation for a future in medicine and healthcare, and providing clinical and research professionals with a reliable go-to reference. Complex concepts are presented in a clear, concise, and logically organized format to further facilitate understanding and retention. Clear, didactic illustrations visually present processes in a clear, concise manner that is easy to understand. Intuitive organization and consistent writing style facilitates navigation and comprehension. Takes a strong molecular and cellular approach that relates these concepts to human physiology and disease. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text with thorough hyperlinking, images, 10 animations, and copious linkout notes prepared by the Editors. An increased number of clinical correlations provides a better understanding of the practical applications of physiology in medicine. Highlights new breakthroughs in molecular and cellular processes, such as the role of epigenetics, necroptosis, and ion channels in physiologic processes, to give insights into human development, growth, and disease. Several new authors offer fresh perspectives in many key sections of the text, and meticulous editing makes this multi-authored resource read with one unified voice.

Netter's Essential Physiology by Susan Mulroney; Adam Myers Grasp key concepts quickly with the visual, concise, and clinical approach to physiology found in this second edition of Netter's Essential Physiology. Lucid prose combines with classic Netter art, clinical correlations, "light bulb" side notes, end-of-chapter questions, and brand-new videos to ensure a complete understanding of these complex concepts. Logically written and highly readable, it's ideal for a basic understanding of physiology, as an overview of the subject, or as a supplement to lectures. You may also be interested in: Netter's Physiology Flash Cards: ISBN 978-0-323-35954-2, the companion flash cards to this book. Beautifully clear drawings and diagrams from the Netter collection illustrate key concepts and further your visual understanding of the subject. Self-assessment review questions at the end of each chapter serve to expedite study. Student Consult eBook version included with purchase. This enhanced eBook experience includes access -- on a variety of devices -- to the complete text, 8 animations, and new video tutorials. You'll also be able to test your knowledge with additional multiple-choice questions. A brand-new chapter on blood provides increased coverage of immunology. Additional "light bulb" boxes highlight interesting memorable details or examples providing enhanced context. A greater number of clinical correlations integrate pathophysiology into the content. New video tutorials explain difficult concepts and help to reinforce comprehension of the material.

Berne and Levy Physiology by Bruce M. Koeppen; Bruce A. Stanton; Julianne M. Hall (Editor); Agnieszka Swiatecka-Urban (Editor) Pairing necessary detail with concise readability, Berne & Levy Physiology, 8th Edition, provides a perfect balance of content to deliver an in-depth understanding of the body's dynamic processes. Long respected for its scientifically rigorous approach, this highly regarded, mid-size text offers essential physiology with integrated coverage of biophysics andkey experimental observations and examples-all designed to provide a solid scientific foundation in physiology for future scientists and clinicians.  Uses a logical, organ system-based approach that clearly describes all of the mechanisms that control and regulate bodily function.  Includes new clinical case examples, as well as In the Clinic and At the Molecular Level boxes that highlight practical aspects of this fundamental science.  Provides key experimental observations and examples that offer a rich understanding of the body's dynamic processes.  Discusses recent discoveries such as the role of lymphatics in the nervous system.  Begins each chapter with a bulleted list of questions and ends with key concepts covered in that chapter.  Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices. 

Pocket Companion to Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology by John E. Hall; Michael E. Hall Carry the same authoritative, useful knowledge that readers of Guyton and Hall have come to trust - in an easily accessible, pocket format. Pocket Companion to Guyton and Hall Textbook of Medical Physiology, 14th Edition, echoes the structure and content of the world's foremost physiology textbook, making it ideal for a quick, portable review or entry point into complex topics. Grasp key information quickly thanks to concise, readable text. Benefit from updated content of the 14th edition of the bestselling text in a condensed synopsis format. Quickly locate more in-depth discussions inside the parent text with abundant cross-references and a parallel chapter organization. Enhanced eBook version included with purchase. Your enhanced eBook allows you to access all of the text, figures, and references from the book on a variety of devices.