AMBOSS is one of the world’s leading digital medical resource that delivers up-to-date medical knowledge to over 1 million students, physicians, and faculty. AMBOSS interactive knowledge library contains 20,000+ preclinical and clinical medical topics and comes with an interlinked Question Bank with nearly 5,000 clinical case-based questions.
Access to this database is limited to MBRU students, need to send a request to library via email to get access to AMBOSS. User need to create a personal account within the database and activate account using the access code received in your email.
- 20,000+ preclinical and clinical medical topics
- 5,000 clinical case-based questions
- Available on any device, any time
- Available both online and offline
- Complete USMLE Step 1 and Step 2 CK and CS packages are available
- Helps you succeed on your NBME® Subject Examinations
Research to Publication is an eLearning programme for early career academics in healthcare research brought to you by BMJ in collaboration with UCSF.
This programme offers a comprehensive set of stand-alone, self-study modules that lets learners choose what to study, and do so at their own pace. Focused entirely on medical research, Research to Publication draws on the expertise of The BMJ’s research editors and UCSF’s academics to guide learners through the entire process from designing a study, to seeing it published in an international journal.
Dentistry & Oral Sciences Source offers an extensive collection of important full-text journals, as well as dozens of full-text monographs. The collection includes more than 210 full-text journals, including many of the top-ranked titles in the discipline. Topics covered include General Dentistry, Dental Public Health, Endodontics, Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Pediatric Dentistry, Orthodontics, Dentofacial Orthopedics, and Oral Science.
UpToDate is an evidence-based, physician-authored clinical decision support resource which clinicians trust to make the right point-of-care decisions. More than 6,300 world-renowned physician authors, editors, and peer reviewers use a rigorous editorial process to synthesize the most recent medical information into trusted, evidence-based recommendations that are proven to improve patient care and quality. More than 1.1 million clinicians in 180 countries and almost 90% of academic medical centers in the United States rely on UpToDate to provide the best care.
More than 60 research studies confirm widespread usage of UpToDate and its association with improved patient care and hospital performance. One, a study by researchers at Harvard published in the Journal of Hospital Medicine in 2011, showed that hospitals using UpToDate experienced shortened hospital stays, fewer deaths and better quality performance than non-UpToDate hospitals.
UpToDate access is limited, you may contact the library for more information.
New / Trial Databases
Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Bates’ Visual Guide to Physical Examination is Lippincott’s online platform for the delivery of more than 8 hours of video content that provides head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the Advanced Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course, or for practitioners requiring a review of the History & Physical.
Supports teaching and learning objectives with hours of narrated and closed captioned videos
Prepares students for the patient encounter and board exams
Allows students independent, frequent viewing, and testing of their clinical reasoning skills
Provides a resource for practitioners to review and refresh their understanding of examination techniques
Creates direct paths to videos from library catalog or course syllabus; enables downloading of PDF transcripts for use in teaching guides
Available online and optimised for mobile devices
Key Features:
End-to-end physical assessment interactive learning videos
15 OSCE-style modules for clinical reasoning
Ideal for patient encounter and board exam preparation
Over 8 hours of videos with clear narration and captions
Over 230 Individual video clips across 18 Volumes
From preclinical to wards, Boards & Beyond is the comprehensive online medical solution that medical students rely on to make complex concepts easy to understand.
Key Features
Step 1-Preclinical:
Step 1-Preclinical includes more than 440 videos and over 2300 USMLE-style questions, as well as progress tracking, custom quizzes & playlists, and slide PDFs. If preparing for Step 1, students can use Boards & Beyond with the confidence of an “A” rating from First Aid for the USMLE Step 1.
Step 2-3- Clinical:
STEP 2-3- Clinical expands students’ foundation into clinical topics, including in-depth discussions of diagnosis and treatment that will help them excel during clinical rotations and on the USMLE Step 2 CK and Step 3 exams.
You must register your name in order to gain access.
Covidence is a web-based software platform that streamlines the production of systematic/ scoping/ rapid/ literature reviews. It supports citation screening, full-text review, risk of bias/quality assessment, extraction of study characteristics and outcomes, and the export of data and references. The platform interface is intuitive and can save time on repetitive review tasks, enabling faster review production and more time for analysis and interpretation.
You can:
Import references – Covidence works seamlessly with reference management software such as EndNote (Desktop or Online), or any tool that supports RIS or other file formats. Covidence can automatically remove duplicates for you.
Screen title & abstract – Breeze through screening with keyword highlighting & a lightning-quick interface. Covidence keeps full records of who voted and supports single or dual screeners.
Bulk PDF import – Transfer PDFs stored in your reference manager to Covidence in a few clicks. clicks. Note that University of Birmingham reviewers are cautioned to not share a review, that would provide access to the full text of articles obtained through University of Birmingham subscriptions or inter-library loan, to reviewers who do not already have the same legal access to those materials. Please contact the Copyright and Licensing Team in Library Services if you have any questions regarding sharing these materials.
Screen full text – Decide quickly on studies in full text. Capture reasons for exclusion and any notes so you can resolve any disagreements quickly, with a click of a button.
Create forms – Be in control and stay focused on your PICO question. Customizable extraction forms mean you only spend time extracting what you need.
Customize risk of bias – Automatically populate your risk of bias tables by highlighting and commenting on the text directly in your PDF.
Conduct data extraction – Extract data efficiently with a side-by-side view of your customized form and PDF. Then, when you are done, easily compare your form with other reviewers.
Export – Covidence exports to all the common formats so you can continue your review in your preferred software.
Collaborate – You can invite other reviewers (including external colleagues) to work with you on the project.
How to join the trial licence account:
Create your user personal account with Covidence before or after joining the trial licence account. To request your email invitation to get access, you must use your valid institutional email address
Go to – https://app.covidence.org/organizations/7yZe3/signup
Enter your information (using your institutional email address) and click the “Request Invitation” link
An invitation will be emailed to you (may need to check your spam folder): Click “Accept this invitation”
Sign in if you already have an existing personal Covidence account with your institutional email address or sign up for a new account
After successfully joining the licence, you will be able to sign in by visiting: https://www.covidence.org/sign_in
Starting a review under the institutional licence account:
Sign in to Covidence
Select “Start a new review”
Under ‘Which account do you want to use?”, make sure to select “Dubai Health – 2 Month Trial Access“
Reviews created using the institutional account will be visible to Covidence subscription administrators. Reviews created using your personal account are only visible to you.
Once you have created a review or accepted an invitation to another institutional account review, the title will appear in a separate section on your account homepage
Embase is the world’s largest database of biomedical evidence from published, peer-reviewed literature, in- press publications and conference abstracts.
Conduct systematic literature reviews
Embase guides you in using the PICO method in a search. And you can quickly formulate an advanced query to explore deeply indexed content. Your results feed into a strong systematic review that helps you to:
Access relevant information from trusted sources
Confidently publish original research
Tap into a multitude of topics and deeply connected records
Screen for adverse drug events
Embase empowers your pharmacovigilance search strategy for high-recall, high-precision drug safety monitoring.
Use smart tools to ensure you don’t miss important information for compliant pharmacovigilance
Track drug-disease relations and drug-drug interactions
Recognized by regulatory bodies as a source for discovering adverse events
Comply with medical device regulations
Embase is recommended by the EMA for meeting the stricter requirements of MDR and IVDR.
Capture mentions of medical devices with dedicated device terms, subheadings and synonym suggestions from Emtree
Collect data for clinical evaluations, as well as post-market surveillance
Quickly create precise and high-recall queries
Osmosis is a powerful visual learning platform that makes complex medical topics easy to understand through expertly illustrated visuals based on evidence-based learning science.
Key Features:
Get through more material faster: Osmosis has a library of expertly reviewed videos that condence a 1-hour lecture into just 10 minutes.
Maximize your learning potential: Osmosis’s top-rated mobile app makes studying instantly accessible, anytime, anywhere.
Truly understand complex topics: Osmosis workspaces make collaborating with peers seamless.
Avoid information overload: Osmosis’s high-yield notes are quick, done-for-you summaries that help make your coursework more manageable.
Stop exam stress: Osmosis’s thousands of self-assessment questions with detailed answer explanations help you tie it all together
SAGE Research Methods is the ultimate methods library with more than 1000 books, reference works, journal articles, and instructional videos by world-leading academics from across the social sciences, including the largest collection of qualitative methods books available online from any scholarly publisher. The Methods Map can help those less familiar with research methods to find the best technique to use in their research.
The SAGE Research Methods database subscription includes the following resources: SRM Books & Reference (Core), SRM Cases Medicine & Health, SRM Data Visualisation, and SRM Video Medicine & Health.
Key Features:
Over 220,000 pages of content covering hundreds of methodological approaches
Exclusive collections of case studies, practice datasets and expert videos, commissioned by SAGE to match the entire research methods and statistics curriculum.
Online access to the complete Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series (QASS), also known as “The Little Green Books”, as well as the Qualitative Research Methods series (QRMS), or “The Little Blue Books”.
Resources to help faculty write up their methodology for publication.
Exclusive research tools and functionalities to support researchers at every level.
Essential supplementary support for course learning and dissertation projects for Business, Communications, Criminology, Education, Health Sciences, Psychology, Political Science, Social Work and Sociology.
Help for librarians offering training in information literacy, research skills, literature review and academic writing.
SAGE Research Methods Cases Medicine & Health:
The case studies, written by researchers in the field, focus on research design, methods selection, and methods application. With an emphasis on the researcher’s experiences and decision-making in designing and conducting a specific study, they provide users with generalizable lessons from the use of chosen methods and a more realistic picture of research than what is often found in textbooks. Each case includes learning objectives, multiple-choice questions, and discussion questions, making them perfect for coursework.
SAGE Research Methods Data Visualization:
It teaches both beginner and advanced researchers the fundamentals of data and design necessary to create impactful visualizations. Principles are taught through a series of practical video tutorials, text entries, and practice datasets, and teaches users which chart types best fit their specific data story.
SAGE Research Methods Video Medicine & Health:
Bringing medical and health research to life, this video collection covers research methods used across medical specialties. These include clinical study design, conduct and analysis, biostatistics, systematic review, and meta-analysis. The 55-hour video collection includes tutorials, case studies, in-practice films, and expert interviews. Epidemiological and infectious disease research methods, directly relating to the current COVID-19 pandemic, are covered, making this a timely collection for medical and health students. Video player tools such as the ability to create custom clips and embed video in learning management systems are ideal for online coursework.
toxinz™ contains current, concise and reliable recommendations on the management of poisoning for hundreds of thousands of listed chemicals, pharmaceuticals, household products, plants and hazardous creatures. This resource is continually reviewed and always expanding to accommodate more information.
The information, while comprehensive, is succinct, easily navigated and contains clear recommendations on patient management. Advice, supported with images and nomograms, is fully referenced, with updates made in real time.
toxinz™ is curated and edited by the staff of the New Zealand National Poisons Centre, based at the University of Otago in Dunedin, New Zealand, and supported by a nine member international editorial board.
